Town Decal and Tax Information

Town Decals

For individuals living within the Town of Pulaski, a Town decal/sticker is required for your vehicle. If it is parked over 50% of the time within the Town of Pulaski, you are required to obtain a Town decal. This ordinance applies even if your vehicle is registered in another locality (Ex.: If your vehicle is registered in Wytheville, you are required to purchase a Pulaski Town decal if said vehicle spends over 50% of its time parked within Town limits). The controlling factor in the requirement for displaying a decal is where the vehicle is parked for the majority of the time, regardless of where it is registered. If you have recently moved to the Town of Pulaski, please ensure that your vehicle’s registration is updated through the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to reflect your change of address. Please ensure that the registration card issued by the DMV lists the Town of Pulaski as the location that the vehicle is “garaged.”  The DMV and local automobile dealers frequently enter the County of Pulaski as the location where the vehicle is parked regardless of the address of the vehicle operator.  Town decals may be acquired by visiting our Finance Department at 42 1st Street Northwest, Pulaski, Virginia 24301. Rates for decals on different motor vehicles are displayed below. Please note that payment of personal property taxes must be satisfied before a decal can be issued. 

Standard vehicles: $25.00
Motorcycle: $8.00
Trucks under 20,000: $25.00
Trucks over 20,000: $30.00
Vans: $25.00
Trailer: $7.50
Vehicle 2D SD: $25.00
Decal Transfers: $1.00

If you have purchased a new vehicle and wish to transfer a Town decal over from your previous vehicle, you may remove and bring the original decal to our Finance Department and request a transfer. 

Real Estate Taxes

The Town of Pulaski bills real estate taxes twice a year;  the first half is due on June 5th and the second half is due on December 5th. If not paid in full on each respective due date, a late penalty charge of 10% will be applied to your account. The Town does recognize the post mark on mailed payments (Ex: if your payment arrives on June 7th but is postmarked for June 5th, no penalty charge will be applied). Any changes in your assessed values must be addressed with Pulaski County through the Commissioner of the Revenue’s office. The Town of Pulaski does not pro-rate taxes within the current tax year.

Any payments received must be applied towards any past or delinquent amounts before the current amount can be paid.

Town real estate taxes assessed at $0.34 per $100 of assessed value. 

Personal Property Taxes

Personal Property taxes are due on October 15th, with the same late penalty and postmark policies in place as for real estate taxes. The Town of Pulaski cannot change vehicles if there is a dispute on that vehicle, this issue must be addressed with Pulaski County through the Commissioner of the Revenue’s office. As of January 1st of the current billing year, if your vehicle is parked within the Town you must pay the Town personal property taxes for that billing year. The Town of Pulaski does not pro-rate taxes for the current tax year. 

Any payments received must be applied towards any delinquent amounts before the current amount can be paid.

Town of Pulaski | All Rights Reserved | Powered By CivicLive | © 2020 Intrado Corporation